Jason Thiriot

From: Sent: To:	Whetton, Linda <lwhetton@usbr.gov> Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:33 AM Alan Downer; Amy Heuslein; Anamarie Gold; Anne J. Castle; Arden Kucate; Beverley Heffernan; Charles Lewis; Charley Bulletts; Dave Uberuaga; David Nimkin; Dennis J. Strong; Don Ostler; Estevan Lopez; Frederick H. White; Garry Cantley; Gerald Hooee; Gerald Myers; Glen Knowles; Jason Thiriot; Jayne Harkins; Jerry Lee Cox; John Jordan; John Shields; Kerry Christensen; Kirk Young; Kurt Dongoske; Larry Riley; Larry Stevens; Larry Walkoviak; LeAnn Skrzynski; Leigh J. Kuwanwisiwma; Leslie James; Loretta Jackson-Kelly; Lori Caramanian; Lynn Jeka; Marianne Crawford; Mark Martinez; Mark Van Vlack; Martha Hahn; McClain Peterson; Michael Yeatts; Michelle Brown; Nikolai Lash; Robert King; Sam Jansen; Shane Capron; Steve Spangle; Tanya M. Trujillo; Ted Kowalski; Ted Rampton; Thomas Buschatzke; Tony H. Joe; Vineetha Kartha; William Davis; William Stewart; Colleen K. Lane; Ginny Little; Jane Lyder; Jason Tucker; John Schmidt; Karen Radzykewycz; Kate McIntire - DNR; Katrina Grantz; Levi Hutchinson; Mary Barger; Mike Runge; Robert Snow; Sarah Rinkevich; Serena Mankiller; Theresa Johnson; Chris Schill; Dave Lytle; David Garrett; Helen Fairley; Paul Grams; Phil Davis;</lwhetton@usbr.gov>
Cc:	Cathryn Cherry; Clayton Palmer; Colby Pellegrino; Dan Bunk; Daniel Patterson; David Wegner; Deborah Lawler; Janet Bair; Jayne Kelleher; Jeanine Borchardt; Jeff Lucero; John Carter; Justin Tade; Kerry Rae; Laura M. Trujillo; Laurie Parish; Lee Case; Lynn Hamilton; Lynn Johnson; Meghan Trubee; Melynda Roberts; Nick Hara; Rob Billerbeck; Robert Wheeler; Rodney McVey; Seth Shanahan; Shana Tighi; Terzinda Vinson; Todd Brindle; William Dickinson; William McDonald; Alan Foster; Andy Makinster; Chris Hughes; Clifford Barrett; Craig Ellsworth; David Bennion; Evelyn Erlandsen; Janet R. Balsom; JOHN HAMILL; Kevin Dahl; Lesley Fitzpatrick; Lisa Meyer; Mark Anderson; Paul Harms; Randy Seaholm; Todd Chaudhry; Brian Healy; James Morel; Jeff Cole; Kirk LaGory
Subject:	Announcement: New GCMRC Economist

See message below:

All,

On Monday, July 29, USGS/GCMRC welcomed Lucas Bair as GCMRC staff economist. Lucas specializes in natural resource and environmental economics. His experience includes project feasibility and environmental studies that involve economic impact and cost-benefit analyses with particular experience in determining the value of water for municipal, agriculture, and energy use. Lucas has worked collaboratively with large technical analysis teams involving multiple stakeholders on complex resource planning projects such as California's Bay Delta Conservation Plan and North-of-the-Delta Offstream Storage Investigation. Prior to joining the GCMRC, Lucas was employed at CH2M HILL, Inc. in Sacramento, CA. Lucas received his M.S. in Agricultural and Resource Economics and a B.S. in Forestry from Colorado State University.

Lucas will make his move to Flagstaff in late August. Please welcome him and feel free to contact him and share your insights about the role of economics research and monitoring activities in the Glen Canyon Dam Adaptive Management Program. Lucas will be on a steep learning curve regarding COlorado River issues and he will appreciate the support and help from all of you. Lucas's USGS email address is <u>lbair@usgs.gov</u>

Jack

John (Jack) C. Schmidt

Chief, Grand Canyon Monitoring and Research Center Southwest Biological Science Center U.S. Geological Survey 2255 North Gemini Drive Flagstaff, Arizona 86001 928-864-9219 (cell) 928-556-7364 (office)

